Life Balance as a Pre-PT + Lymphedema Therapy : Rosita Ramirez, Pre-PT

As Pre-Physical Therapy students, we all share the goal of getting into a Doctor of Physical Therapy program, but we don’t all get there the same way. We come from different backgrounds, and have endured struggles and pushed past obstacles to achieve what we want.

We are so pleased to feature Rosita, a very impressive pre-PT student with a lot to offer. We have loved reading about her day and are seriously intrigued by her undergrad major. Huge thanks to Rosita for being brave and being the FIRST pre-PT student to submit a piece for Pre-DPT Society! We can learn a lot from not only her hustle, but also how she balances her busy lifestyle. Oh, and keep your eyes open for a mini-lymphedema therapy lesson. Join us as we follow along on Rosita’s journey to PT school! 

Hi everyone! My name is Rosa, but most people call me Rosita. I am a recent graduate from the University of the Incarnate Word in San Antonio, TX. I have a degree in Rehabilitative Science and a minor in Psychology. I am currently applying to physical therapy school, so I’ve had a really busy and productive summer! I am excited to share with you what a day in my life is like as I get closer to applying to DPT programs!

Here is what a typical Wednesday looks like for me:

0745: Although most of my weekdays this summer have consisted of waking up kind of early (early for me at least), I honestly can’t complain because I spend my mornings shadowing at physical therapy facilities. I absolutely love it! I have been alternating doing observation hours at two different settings: Mondays and Wednesdays with a lymphedema physical therapist, and Tuesdays and Thursdays at a pediatric facility.

I have been alternating doing observation hours at two different settings: Mondays and Wednesdays with a lymphedema physical therapist, and Tuesdays and Thursdays at a pediatric facility.

0800: After catching up on social media for a few minutes, I usually start the day by putting on some music while I get ready (one of my favorite songs at the moment is “Something Just Like This” by Coldplay and The Chainsmokers!).

0830: As I eat my breakfast, I like to watch a Youtube video or two. I like to keep my breakfast pretty simple, so I usually just have oatmeal with added granola bits and a glass of milk or a smoothie. After breakfast, I leave my apartment and I head to my observation hours.

0900: Since today is Wednesday, I shadow the lymphedema physical therapist. I like to keep a notebook with me so I can write notes as the therapist works with the different patients. An interesting case I saw today was a patient who has bilateral lymphedema in the lower extremity. I have learned so much from this type of physical therapy!

An interesting case I saw today was a patient who has bilateral lymphedema in the lower extremity.

In case if you’re not familiar with it, lymphedema therapy consists of treating the patient with manual lymphatic drainage, massage, exercise, and compression bandages in order to reduce and improve the condition. This setting has truly been such a wonderful experience and has made me realize how divergent the physical therapy profession is.

In case if you’re not familiar with it, lymphedema therapy consists of treating the patient with manual lymphatic drainage, massage, exercise, and compression bandages in order to reduce and improve the condition.

1230: I leave the hospital where the physical therapy facility is located. By this time I am starving haha! Before heading back to my apartment, I stop by a Zoe’s Kitchen restaurant to pick up some lunch. I ordered my favorite meal there, the rosemary ham & mozzarella piadina. I love getting food from here because it’s fast and one of the healthier options around my area.

1300: I arrive to my apartment and I’m ready to eat!  While eating lunch, I like to watch The Office on Netflix because it’s hilarious and is a good way for me to relax before I get busier throughout the day.

1400: I spent some time emailing the therapists I have shadowed to remind them about confirming my observation hours on PTCAS. I also added to the “Experience” portion of my application.

1445: I take my GRE very soon so I spend most of my afternoon studying and catching up on learning new vocabulary at a library close by. I signed up with a Magoosh study plan so I watch videos and do some practice problems. I took a practice test a few days ago so I went over most of the incorrect answers from it at this time.

I signed up with a Magoosh study plan so I watch videos and do some practice problems.

1830: After studying vigorously for most of the afternoon, I finally meet with some of my girlfriends at a local Italian restaurant to eat dinner. We also go to Target after eating, so that took a while haha! It’s nice to talk and laugh with friends after a long afternoon of studying.

2100: Once I get back to my apartment complex, I work out at the gym for an hour. I usually tend to switch up my workouts every once in a while. Today I walked/ran on the treadmill for 15 minutes, and then I did some weight training. Keep in mind, I don’t work out every day; however, I try to a few days out of the week when I have the time.

Today I walked/ran on the treadmill for 15 minutes, and then I did some weight training.

2200: I shower and get ready for bed. At this time, I like to hear some relaxing and soft music so I can ease my mind as I prepare to go to bed.

2230: I drink some water and finally get to bed! I am quite religious so I pray for a few minutes and then I get some sleep!

Want to know more?

If you want to connect with Rosita, you can contact her here:
Email: riramir4@student.uiwtx.edu
Twitter: @rose_ir13
Instagram: @rose_ir

Meet the Author: Rosita Ramirez

 

Thank you Rosita for your awesome contribution and inspiring and motivating us to keep working hard for our dreams. We are excited to follow along on your journey!

If you’d like to share your ‘A Day in the Life’ & be featured on our website, please send your submissions to: PreDPTsociety@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

